Two different actions get confused here, and doing the wrong one costs you a month. Cancelling stops the next renewal. Requesting a refund asks for money already taken. On an iPhone they are two different screens, and only one of them is inside the app.
Blinkist is a useful example because its own listing states a refund promise with a deadline, and Apple’s documentation states the route.
Know which one you wantStop it, or get it back
Stop the next charge
Cancel the subscription. You keep access until the period you paid for runs out, and nothing comes back. Apple puts the option in plain language: “If you were charged for a subscription that you no longer want, you can also cancel the subscription.”
Get money back
A refund is a request about a charge that already happened, decided case by case. Blinkist itself sets the expectation: you can “contact Apple Support within the first 14 days to request a refund”.
If you cancel first and then ask, you have lost nothing; if you ask first and it is refused, the renewal may already be on its way. Cancel, then request.
The refund routeApple’s own steps, quoted
- Go to the reporting site, not the app.Apple’s instruction is four words: “Sign in to reportaproblem.apple.com.” Sign in with the Apple Account that was billed — if you have more than one, Apple says to check each one, because the charge only appears under the account that made it.
- Pick the item.“Choose the app, subscription, or other item, then choose Submit.”
- Expect a wait, not a receipt.Apple’s stated turnaround: “Wait 24 to 48 hours for an update on your request.”
- If the charge is still pending, wait.Apple is explicit that a pending charge cannot be refunded yet — “If the charge is pending, you can’t request a refund yet.” This is the single most common reason people think the form is broken.
- Family bills count too.If a family member was charged and you organise the family account, Apple says you can still request the refund on that page.

Before the year turnsWhat to do today
Annual plans renew on the anniversary of the day you signed up, which is nearly always a date you stopped noticing. A reminder seven days ahead turns a £89 surprise into two minutes of cancelling. If you are already past it, the 14-day window above is the only cheap exit — after that, refund decisions get less predictable.
- What you keep either wayBlinkist says the free tier is real: Basic gives “One free daily summary handpicked by our editorial team”, so cancelling drops you to that, it does not lock the app.
- What you probably loseThe downloaded, offline material is the paid part — the listing advertises “Download summaries to listen or read offline” as a feature of the paid plans, along with “With Premium, you can give a friend or family member a free additional account.”
- One thing to check before you quitIf a second account is riding on your Premium, cancelling strands that person too. Worth a text before you press the button.
Blinkist’s listing does not state a price, a renewal lead time, whether your highlights survive a downgrade, or what happens to summaries you already downloaded. Apple’s documented page does not state which refunds it grants either. Those are answered in the app’s own purchase screen and in the reply to your request — check there before repeating anything on this page. And note the wider habit: this is the same cancel-then-refund pair that trips people up on every in-app subscription, which we cover from the other direction in why subscriptions hide in a different menu than purchases.
- The Apple steps — Apple Support, “Request a refund for App Store and iTunes purchases”, retrieved directly from Apple and quoted word for word after normalising its typographic apostrophes. Apple is the party that holds the money, so its own wording is the authority here.
- The Blinkist sentences — the app description Blinks Labs GmbH supplies for its own store listing, retrieved from the store’s public catalogue interface and checked character by character against this page, including the 14-day refund line, the free daily summary, the offline download wording and the additional Premium account.
- One store image — supplied by the developer, captioned for what it shows and what it omits.
- Our own advice — the order of operations, the reminder habit, and the note about a second account. Not vendor instructions; we did not subscribe, cancel or request a refund for this article.
Blinkist’s page on this site is here, on the learning and education hub.
Written by the Dlzer editorial desk. Not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by Blinkist or Apple. Names and marks belong to their owners and are used to identify the products; quoted lines are each company’s statement about its own service.
